Oamaru Cricket Club

Founded: 1864
Colours: Royal Blue and Silver.

Home ground: Whitestone Contracting Centennial Park.

President :- Reece Curle.
Secretary / Treasurer :- Mark Julius.
Club captains :- Andrew Brookes

Established in 1864, Oamaru Cricket Club is one of the ten oldest cricket clubs in New Zealand and one of North Otago's most successful, having won the Borton Cup more than 30 times.

Oamaru has provided many talented players since its inception who have represented both North Otago and Otago, and two New Zealand test representatives in John F. Reid and David Sewell.

Originally located at the Oamaru Cricket Ground (now Takaro Park) the club moved to the New Cricket Ground in 1877 near the present day A&P Showgrounds. It was here that Oamaru played an Australian XI in 1878 and played an English XI in 1882. Recent years has seen the club base themselves at Awamoa Park on Oamaru's South Hill, and now the North End of town sharing clubrooms with Excelsior Rugby. The chocolate brown coloured clubrooms of Awamoa Park give Oamaru their nickname 'the Choccos', endearingly coined by Aaron Dawe in the 1990s.

In conjunction with Excelsior Sports Club and North Otago Cricket Association, the cricket ground infrastructure and changing facilities at the club's home ground are in the process of being upgraded to a high standard. The positioning of the ground being sheltered by trees from the prevailing easterly sea breeze and the elevated viewing platform from the clubrooms make it a pleasure to play at and a relaxing and enjoyable experience to watch cricket from.

Oamaru challenge Celtic of Timaru each year for the Ray McBeth Trophy, named in honour of a strong member of both clubs who died tragically as a young man.

Oamaru encourages its players to play good, hard competitive cricket while also enjoying the social side of the game after the match. Genuine camaraderie and life long friendships have been forged at the club, and this continues to be a focus today.

Oamaru C.C.'s First XI is proudly sponsored by Spivey Real Estate and North End New World Oamaru.

Oamaru welcomes players of all abilites to the club and currently has one senior and one second grade side in the competition.

Oamaru Cricket Club 150th Anniversary Booklet


Senior Competition Champions ( Borton Cup ) - 34
1900-1901 (Oamaru A), 1901-1902 (Oamaru A), 1902-1903 (Oamaru B), 1906-1907, 1907-1908, 1908-1909, 1922-1923, 1923-1924, 1924-1925, 1926-1927, 1927-1928, 1935-1936, 1936-1937, 1946-1947 (Oamaru B), 1950-1951, 1951-1952, 1952-1953, 1955-1956, 1957-1958, 1965-1966, 1966-1967, 1969-1970, 1970-1971, 1972-1973, 1973-1974, 1974-1975, 1976-1977, 1977-1978, 1984-1985, 1989-1990, 1990-1991, 2001-2002, 2002-2003, 2007-2008

Senior Holiday Competition/Challenge Champions ( Dick Hunt Memorial ) - 13
1969-1970, 1970-1971, 1971-1972, 1972-1973, 1979-1980, 1987-1988, 1988-1989, 1989-1990, 1990-1991, 1994-1995, 1998-1999, 2008-2009, 2018-2019

Senior Twenty/20 Competition Champions ( ) - 3
2009-2010, 2013-2014, 2017-2018

Senior Reserve Competition Champions ( North Otago Cricket Association Cup ) - 4
1982-1983, 1984-1985, 1986-1987, 1990-1991

Senior Reserve Holiday Competition Champions ( NOCA Cup ) - 3
1984-1985, 2001-2002, 2002-2003

Second Grade Competition Champions ( J P Dell Cup ) - 9
1935-1936, 1936-1937, 1970-1971, 1971-1972, 1972-1973, 1981-1982, 1983-1984, 1987-1988, 2001-2002

Second Grade Holiday Competition Champions ( North Otago Association Cup ) - 2
2011-2012, 2011-2012


Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraBrydone HotelPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron