Waitaki Boys High School

Founded: 1883

Club Colours: Black and Red

Home Ground: Milner Park & Don Field

1st XI Contact :-Hamish McMurdo (03-437-0529 ext 889)

Other Contact :-Matt Plunket (03-434-1077)

Waitaki Boys is one of the oldest and most famous schools in New Zealand. It has produced four New Zealand cricket representatives (Arthur H. Fisher, E. Denis Blundell, P. G. Zin Harris and David Sewell) amongst numerous Otago and North Otago Representatives.

Since its founding it has taken part in interschools, including its annual match against Timaru Boys High School of which there has been an almost unbroken series of matches since 1886. In 1915 against Ashburton High School, C H Tait had the honor of hitting the first century scoring 101 in a Waitaki victory. The highest score for a Waitaki player in an interschool was D T McIntyres score against Southland Boys in 1939, when at the close of the innings he had recorded a score of 284 not out.

In the local competition its 1st XI takes part in the Senior grade, with its first known competition victory in an unbeaten 1906-07 season. In its over 100 year history it has provided some very talented players on their way to higher honors. In the 2006-07 season, the school had five teams playing in local grades, with its 1st XI playing in the Senior grade, its 2nd XI in Senior Reserve with its other three teams in lower grades.

Waitaki Boys over the years has played host to many memorable matches, including North Otago playing New South Wales in 1924, and North Otago playing the West Indies in 1955.


Senior Competition Champions ( Borton Cup ) - 5
1905-1906, 1919-1920, 1925-1926 (WBHS Colts), 1967-1968, 2015-2016

Senior Minor Premiership Champions ( David Sewell Shield ) - 2
2015-2016, 2016-2017

Senior Challenge Champions ( Payne Tempero Cup ) - 2
2014-2015, 2015-2016

Senior Reserve Competition Champions ( North Otago Cricket Association Cup ) - 5
1981-1982 (WBHS 2nd XI), 1995-1996, 1999-2000 (WBHS 2nd XI), 2007-2008 (WBHS 2nd XI), 2014-2015 (WBHS 2nd XI), 1932-1933, 1954-1955, 1957-1958, 1977-1978


Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraBrydone HotelPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron