Senior - Competition - Borton Cup

Trophy/Honour Image

With the creation of the North Otago Cricket Association in 1899, a club competition was started for the affiliated clubs. Six teams (Oamaru A, Oamaru B, Tureka, Capulet, Waitaki (Otieke), and an Ngapara-Maraewhenua combined team) entered the first season with a series of home and away matches to decide the champion. Due to a lack of grounds and with at least two teams based at one ground most games where played at Takaro Park. Tureka were the very first winners of the competition being undefeated during the 1899-1900 season, however it was the Oamaru Cricket Club that would dominate the early years.

When the competition was created the Oamaru Cricket Club was easily the strongest club in the Oamaru area. To make the other clubs more competitive and a more even competition Oamaru entered two teams and despite its talent being spread between these two teams it still dominated the competition during its early years. For the first 10 seasons, Oamaru won it 6 times with Oamaru A being undefeated in 1900-01 and 1906-07. A regular feature of these seasons would be one Oamaru team finishing first with the other finishing second. Cricket in Oamaru reached a high point with a B competition introduced and one season saw 8 teams entered into its Senior Competition.

It wasn't until the end of the second season when a trophy was started to be presented to the winner of the competition. With a lack of funds North Otago cricket found the purchasing of a suitable trophy difficult until Oamaru Cricket Club member John Borton donated a trophy to be competed for. The trophy was referred to under many names such as "The North Otago Cup" and "Association Cup" but it is generally agreed that it was called the "NOCA Cup".

This early golden period of cricket in North Otago unfortunately wasn't to last. As teams started to struggle to find adequate grounds and other factors such as prohibition started to gain a hold, cricket slowly started to disappear, and effectively became defunct in 1909.

With the opening of King George Park in 1915 and the return of servicemen from war service overseas in 1919 there was enough of a push to restart the cricket competition. Waitaki Boys High School was the first winners of the re-launched competition being presented with the old trophy at the end of the season. Waitaki Boys as holders then stored the Cup in the front block at the school but a major fire broke out that saw its loss in 1920. Frank Milner, then rector of the school, presented a new cup to the NOCA as a replacement - the Borton Cup.

The Borton Cup is for the winner of the North Otago Senior competition. It was named after John Borton, who was well known and successful farmer in the New Zealand colony during the 1800's along with being an important member of the Oamaru Cricket Club. He also donated the original cup for the winners of the senior competition.

The original Borton Cup was then used till 2011 before it was lost. A replica of the Borton Cup is now to be used. This replica, in acknowledgement of the over 100 year history of the senior competition, is engraved with the winners of the senior competition since that very first season, in 1899-1900.

1899-1900Tureka Cricket Club
1900-1901Oamaru A
1901-1902Oamaru A
1902-1903Oamaru B
Tureka Cricket Club
1903-1904Capulet Cricket Club A
1904-1905Tureka Cricket Club
1905-1906Waitaki Boys High School
1906-1907Oamaru Cricket Club
1907-1908Oamaru Cricket Club
1908-1909Oamaru Cricket Club
1909-1919No Competition
1919-1920Waitaki Boys High School

Borton Cup
1920-1921Union Cricket Club
1921-1922Union Cricket Club
1922-1923Oamaru Cricket Club
1923-1924Oamaru Cricket Club
1924-1925Oamaru Cricket Club
1925-1926WBHS Colts
1926-1927Oamaru Cricket Club
1927-1928Oamaru Cricket Club
1928-1929Union Cricket Club
1929-1930Union Cricket Club
1930-1931Union Cricket Club
1931-1932Union Cricket Club
1932-1933Albion Cricket Club
1933-1934Union Cricket Club
1934-1935Union Cricket Club
1935-1936Oamaru Cricket Club
1936-1937Oamaru Cricket Club
1937-1938Union Cricket Club
1938-1939Union Cricket Club
1946-1947Oamaru B
1947-1948Union Cricket Club
1948-1949Albion Cricket Club
1949-1950Albion Cricket Club
1950-1951Oamaru Cricket Club
1951-1952Oamaru Cricket Club
1952-1953Oamaru Cricket Club
1954-1955Union Cricket Club
1955-1956Oamaru Cricket Club
1956-1957Albion Cricket Club
1957-1958Oamaru Cricket Club
1958-1959Albion Cricket Club
1959-1960Union Cricket Club
1960-1961Union Cricket Club
1961-1962Albion Cricket Club
1962-1963Albion Cricket Club
1963-1964Union Cricket Club
1964-1965Union Cricket Club
1965-1966Oamaru Cricket Club
1966-1967Oamaru Cricket Club
1967-1968Waitaki Boys High School
1968-1969Albion Cricket Club
1969-1970Oamaru Cricket Club
1970-1971Oamaru Cricket Club
1971-1972Union Cricket Club
1972-1973Oamaru Cricket Club
1973-1974Oamaru Cricket Club
1974-1975Oamaru Cricket Club
1975-1976Union Cricket Club
1976-1977Oamaru Cricket Club
1977-1978Oamaru Cricket Club
1978-1979Country Cricket Club
1979-1980Union Cricket Club
1980-1981Union Cricket Club
1981-1982Union Cricket Club
1982-1983Union Cricket Club
1983-1984Albion Cricket Club
1984-1985Oamaru Cricket Club
1985-1986Albion Cricket Club
1986-1987Albion Cricket Club
1987-1988Albion Cricket Club
1988-1989Albion Cricket Club
1989-1990Oamaru Cricket Club
1990-1991Oamaru Cricket Club
1991-1992Union Cricket Club
1992-1993Albion Cricket Club
1993-1994Union Cricket Club
1994-1995Valley Cricket Club
1995-1996Union Cricket Club
1996-1997Union Cricket Club
1997-1998Valley Cricket Club
1998-1999St Kevins College
1999-2000Union Cricket Club
2000-2001Albion Cricket Club
2001-2002Oamaru Cricket Club
2002-2003Oamaru Cricket Club
2003-2004Valley Cricket Club
2004-2005Valley Cricket Club
2005-2006Albion Cricket Club
2006-2007Valley Cricket Club
2007-2008Oamaru Cricket Club
2008-2009Union Cricket Club
2009-2010Union Cricket Club
2010-2011Union Cricket Club
2011-2012Union Cricket Club
2012-2013Albion Cricket Club
2013-2014Albion Cricket Club
2014-2015Albion Cricket Club
2015-2016Waitaki Boys High School
2016-2017Albion Cricket Club


Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraBrydone HotelPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron