Albion takes Payne Tempero
By Terry O'Neill on Tuesday, 07 December 2010

Albion took the Payne/Tempero challenge trophy for the second time and the lead in the senior cricket competition when it defeated Valley by four wickets at Weston on Saturday. Union slumped to its second successive loss when it went down to Waitaki Boys High School by 19 runs at Milner Park while Oamaru retained its second equal place in Borton cup cricket when it defeated St Kevin's College by five wickets.

Valley won the toss and decided to bat first against Albion and after nine overs were 22 for two. A mini collapse saw Valley crash to 46 for six after 15 overs before some resolute batting from Byron Neil(24) and Paul Gargan(20) carried Valley to 120 before the final wicket fell in the 27th over.. Dylan Winter took four for 31, Ricky Whyte, three for 14 and Marshall Smith two for 33.

Albion lost its first wicket in the first over but solid batting from Brad Kernahan(45) saw Albion through to 121 for six in the 28th overs. Hamish McKenzie was the pick of the Valley bowlers taking four for 34.

St Kevin's decided to bat first against Oamaru with Jordan Bartlett giving the side a sound start at 52 for two. Richard Turner(27) saw St Kevin's through to 96 for four after 33 overs. The next six wickets fell for the addition of only 43 runs with David Sewell taking three for seven, Khalil three for 38 and Ben Coleman two for 19.

Oamaru started brightly racing through to 66 for two after 14 overs and ten overs later had passed the St Kevin's total at 140 for five with Andrew Sewell unbeaten on 44 and Glen Paterson adding 21. Jeremy Smith was the most successful St Kevin's bowler taking three for 25.

Union asked Waitaki Boys to bat first at Milner Park and although Waitaki lost opener Adrian Myburgh(10) early in the innings Matt Machan anchored the innings with a fine 95 with Sean Eathorne making 23 and Lachie Kingan,21 before the innings closed at 218 in the 46th over. Chris Ware took three for 31 and Dan Conlan two for 26.

Union was in early trouble at ten for two after four overs but Tim Shields came to light with 31 carrying Union through to 72 for four. Glynn Cameron(75) and Todd Sidon(50) gave Union hope but the final wicket fell 20 runs short of victory. Shaun Todd took four for 25 in his final match for Waitaki Boys while Matt Day claimed four for 43 and Machan two for 28.

Senior (Borton Cup) Short Scorecards

Valley 120 ( B. Nearle 24, P. Gargon 20, D. Winter 4-31, R. Whyte 3-14, M. Smith 2-33 )
Albion 121-6 ( B. Kernahan 45, H. McKenzie 4-34 )
Albion by 4 wickets

St Kevins 139 ( R. Turner 27, J. Bartlett 23, D. Sewell 3-7, Khalil 3-38, B. Coleman 2-19 )
Oamaru 140-5 ( A. Sewell 44no, G. Paterson 21, J. Smith 3-25 )
Oamaru by 5 wickets

WBHS 218 ( M.W. Machan 95, S.W. Eathorne 23, L. Kingan 21, C. Ware 3-31, D. Conlan 2-26 )
Union 199 ( G.R. Cameron 75, T. Sidon 50, T. Shields 31, S. Todd 4-25, B. Day 4-43, M.W. Machan 2-23 )
Waitaki by 19 runs


Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraOamaru Sports & OutdoorsBrydone HotelCameron Walker And AssociatesPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron