McKenzie marks return with 118
By Terry O'Neill on Tuesday, 14 December 2010

North Otago 303 ( M.N. McKenzie 118, D.J. Drew 50, M.W. Machan 34, S.W. Eathorne 27, D.G. Sewell 15no, J.H. Shields 14, D.W. Simpson 14, Ravenscroft 5-58, Print 3-62 )
Mid Canterbury 190 ( J. Morrison 43, B. Houston 41, R. Print 31, L. Jemmett 27, R. Polson 16, Machan 3-36, Sewell 3-45, Horrell 2-29, Simpson 2-56 ) & 122-1 ( R. Polson 70no, M. Winter 44 )
First innings win to North Otago
Scorecard for the match


Players: Marcel McKenzie |

A disciplined 118 from Marcel McKenzie guided North Otago to a first innings win over Mid Canterbury at Whitestone Contracting Stadium yesterday. Mid Canterbury won the toss and put North Otago into bat on Saturday morning and North Otago went to lunch a 107 for four with McKenzie on 17 and Duncan Drew on two. This pair put on 134 runs for the fifth wicket before Drew was dismissed for 50 in his fiftieth match for North Otago. McKenzie's was the ninth wicket to fall at 295 with the former Otago player there for 276 minutes and facing 220 balls. North Otago was dismissed for 303 with Bevan Ravenscroft the most successful Mid Canterbury bowler taking five for 58 while Richard Print took three for 62.

At stumps on the first day Mid Canterbury was 15 without loss but the very first ball on Sunday morning saw Matt Winter bowled by Dave Simpson for three. Mid Canterbury slumped to 56 for four before Bo Houston(41) and Jason Morrison(43) added 56 for the sixth wicket. Richard Print hit out lustily down the order for his 31 before the innings closed at 190 ensuring that Mid Canterbury had to follow on.

David Sewell and Matt Machan took three wicket bags while Simpson and left arm off spinner Jordan Horrell took two wickets each. Mid Canterbury batted through to 5.30p.m. and at 122 for one and no chance of a decision both captains agreed enough was enough.

Robbie Polson was unbeaten on 70 while Matt Winter was bowled by Chris Ware for 44, the pair putting on 108 for the first wicket.

Next week North Otago will play Southland in Invercargill and Otago Country will play South Canterbury in Alexandra.


Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraBrydone HotelPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron