Hawke Cup ends with draw
By Terry O'Neill on Tuesday, 24 January 2017

North Otago 309 ( F. Mostert 133no, R.J. George 49, B.G. James 35, C.M. Smith 34, J.B. Smith 28, N.A. McNicol 4-73, S.J. Carlaw 2-52 )
South Canterbury 9-0 ( )
Match drawn
Scorecard for the match

Heavy rain overnight on Saturday saw the second day of the Hawke Cup elimination game between South Canterbury and North Otago saw the game abandoned on Sunday morning without a ball being bowled. Consequently both sides will receive three points from the game.

South Canterbury won the toss at Aorangi Park on Saturday morning and put North Otago into bat but South Canterbury struck early when left arm quickie, Nathan McNicol, fresh from his tournament play with Canterbury A took the wickets of North Otago openers, Duncan Drew(2) and Dallas Mahuika(0) to have the visitors, four for two. Craig Smith(34) and Jeremy Smith(28) added sixty runs for the third wicket before Craig Smith's was the third wicket to fall. Jeremy Smith and Francois Mostert added a further twenty six runs for the fourth wicket before Smith was run out by Mark Otley for 28.Incoming batsmen Brady Kingan went without addition to the total before Regan George joined Mostert. The pair produced a sixth wicket stand of eight two before George went for forty nine. Sam Bastin went with the total at 187 before Mostert was joined by Blake James and with Mostert the dominating partner the pair featured in an eight wicket stand of 118 before James(35) was dismissed at 305.Jonty Naylor joined Mostert(133 not out) and added a couple of runs before North Otago declared at 309 for eight. Mostert's fine innings of 133 came in 251 minutes from 200 balls and included twenty five boundaries.Bowling for South Canterbury McNichol took four for 73, Sam Carlaw, two for fifty two and Mark Otley, one for sixty four.

When rain stopped play on Saturday, South Canterbury was nine without loss after facing just sixteen balls.


     Follow us on Facebook

Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustNetwork Waitaki LimitedWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraBrydone Hotel

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron