WBHS beat Albion while Union wins against Oamaru/SKC
By Terry O'Neil on Wednesday, 24 February 2016

An unbeaten 91 from New Zealand under 19 allrounder Nathan Smith ensured that Waitaki Boys retained its Borton Cup lead with one round of qualifying remaining.However Smith will not be available for the next round as he has been selected in the South Island team to play the North Island, the same weekend that North otago will play Hawkes Bay in a Hawke Cup challenge in Oamaru.Albion batted first at Centennial Park and after fifty overs was 185 for eight with Jeremy Smith leading the way with 39 and Nigel Moriarty adding 21. Nathan Smith who took a wicket with the first ball of the match took two for 23 while Mason James claimed two for 26. Bolstered by Smith's innings and an unbeaten sixth wicket stand on 59 with Blake James(24not out) Waitaki Boys passed the Albion total in the forty fifth over. Bowling for Albion Ricky Whyte took two for 21.

Union assured itself a place in the Borton Cup semi finals when it beat Oamaru/St Kevin’s by fifty five runs at the Excelsior ground .Batting first Union made 243 with solid innings from Jake Greenslade(38), veteran Neville Donaldson(34), Mike Ormandy(34), Dylan Edwards(26), Jeremiah Shields(25) and Jeremy Ferguson(25) with Ben Cant taking three for 32 and Jordan Bartlett finished with three for 50.Despite determined batting from Ben Cant(45), Jim Mallinson(29) and Regan George(22) the side was dismissed for 188 in the thirty third over.Dan Conlan took three for 42 while Matt Lilley and Brad Fleming finished with two wickets each.


     Follow us on Facebook

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron