WBHS and Valley to contest final
By Terry O'Neill on Monday, 14 March 2016

Valley upset the cricket applecart on Saturday when it defeated the rated Union side by sixty seven runs in the Borton Cup semi finals at King George Park on Saturday. Union won the toss and decided to bowl and had Valley seventy four for three after eighteen overs. This brought together Cameron Grubb and Richard Witham and this pair added forty five runs before Grubb was dismissed for 28. Witham was to be the anchor for the Valley innings and with Andrew Harding (33)added ninety seven runs for the fifth wicket before Witham’s(73) was the eight wicket to fall before Valley batted through its fifty overs for 231 for eight.

Union began its chase confidently to be fifty two for one before Reuben Simpson in his first over for Valley snatched the wickets of Jake Greenslade and Neil Rushton to have Union fifty two for three. Only Union opener Jeremiah Shields coped with the Valley attack with an invaluable 67 before the Union innings closed at 164 in the forty sixth over. Bowling for Valley Geoff Major mopped up the lower order to finish with four for twenty three off seven overs while Simpson took three for 22.

In a low scoring game at Milner Park Waitaki Boys put Albion in to bat and dismissed the side which had won the Borton Cup in the past three seasons for ninety one with Peter Cartwright(23 not out) the only Albion batsman to show any resistance. Bowling for Waitaki Boys Nathan Smith took six for twenty six off 8.2 overs and Stephan Grobler, two for 16 with Smith taking the last six wickets to fall. Smith was unbeaten on thirty two as Waitaki Boys raced to ninety two for five ,with brother Jeremy Smith taking two for thirty seven for Albion and Paul Odell, two for twenty nine.


     Follow us on Facebook

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron