Union, WBHS win in first Borton Cup Round
By Terry O'Neil on Tuesday, 18 October 2016

Union and Waitaki Boys High School started the 2016/17 Borton Cup competition with wins over Albion and Valley respectively on Saturday.

Valley batted first and a mercurial 86 from Hayden Tisdall backed up by Lachie Kingan(36) and Dallas Mahuika(23) set Waitaki Boys the task of scoring 194 to win in fifty overs. Bowling for Waitaki Boys Nathan James took two for 25, Blake James,three for 28 and Josh Haywood, two for 21.

Waitaki Boys player/coach, Francois Mostert led the chase with an unbeaten 68 receving solid support from Rhys Petrie(25), Nathan Smith(38) and Jonty Naylor(31 not out) as Waitaki Boys passed the Valley total in the forty third over with five wickets in hand.Dallas Mahuika took two for 26 for Valley.

Union batting first made 178 for six in its fifty overs with Brad Fleming unbeaten on 74 and Duncan Drew adding 39.Bowling for Albion Dylan Winter took three for 23.Albion was dismissed for 80 with Matt Lilley taking four for 24, Glyn Cameron claimed three for 16 and Sam Bastin,two for 14.


     Follow us on Facebook

Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraOamaru Sports & OutdoorsBrydone HotelCameron Walker And AssociatesPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron