WBHS and Albion to contest 2017 Borton Cup Final
By Terry O'Neil on Tuesday, 14 March 2017

Last seasons Borton Cup champions, Waitaki Boys High School will meet Albion in the Borton Cup final next week. Union was ousted by Albion by seventy seven runs at King George Park while Waitaki Boys going for two in a row downed Valley  by 105 runs to make the Borton Cup final for the second year in succession. Albion batted first against Union at King George Park and with Jeremy Smith coming to light with a superb 129 guided his side through to 285 for nine in the fifty overs. Regan George chimed in with fifty one and Brad Kernahan added 39 invaluable runs before the innings closed at 285 for nine with Dan Conlan claiming four for 35 and Matt Lilley, three for 46 for Union. Duncan Drew(34) and Thomas Shields(43) produced a second wicket stand of 71 for Union while Sam Bastin(27) and Brad Fleming(25) produced invaluable runs before the side was dismissed for 208.Brady Kingan took four for 37, Jeremy Smith claimed three for 45 and Brad Kernahan  took two  69.

Last seasons Borton Cup winners Waitaki Boys High School dominated with the ball against Valley at Milner Park. Batting first Waitaki Boys mainly through the form of Francois Mostert(62) and Rhys Petrie(47) batted out the fifty overs to make 204 for nine with Nick Kelland and Hamish McKenzie taking three wickets each and Dallas Mahuika, two for 38 for Valley. Fragile batting by Valley saw the side dismissed for ninety nine with Zach Naldrett top scoring with 26 runs. Mostert took four for eight while Glenn McLea and Sam Senior took two wickets each.


     Follow us on Facebook

Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustNetwork Waitaki LimitedWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraBrydone Hotel

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron