Union retains Payne Tempero
By Terry O'Neil on Tuesday, 07 November 2017

Union picked up its first win in the Borton Cup, defeating Valley by 36 runs in a high scoring game at King George Park.

Batting first, Union made 316 for the loss of six wickets with Sam Bastin leading the way with 118 runs which included 13 fours.

All-rounder Blake James fell 13 runs short of his century hitting 10 fours and four sixes and Dylan Edwards hit a quickfire 37 as Union made 316 runs.

Nathan McLaughlin was the best of the Valley bowlers taking three for 67.

Valley took up the challenge but fell short by 36 runs with the 10th over falling in the 49th over. Andrew Harding hit 21 fours in his innings of an unbeaten 114. Reuben Simpson added 32 and Hamish McKenzie (41) combined with Harding in an eigth wicket stand of 70 runs. Blake James took three for 62 for Union.

On a neighbouring ground at King George Park, lower-grade games showed that age does not affect cricketing ability when Valley lined up against the home team Union.

Valley, batting first, made 318 runs with former North Otago representative Kelvin Mansfield making 124 runs and brother Geoffery (Stan) added 49, but it was with the ball Valley showed real ability.

Molly Low (16) was instrumental in restrictng the Union batting line-up. Molly took six for 21 to claim her first five-wicket bag.

North Otago will begin its building for the Hawke Cup next Sunday when it plays South Canterbury in Timaru.

The squad announced on Saturday is Duncan Drew, Craig Smith, Blake James, Mason James, Ben Cant, Jordy Horrell, Francois Mostert, Jeremy Smith, Nathan Smith, Lochie Kingan, Nic Johnston, Llew Johnson, Brad Fleming, Scott Kitto, Jordan Cafferkey, Regan George, Brady Kingan and James Ferris.


     Follow us on Facebook

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron