Albion maintain lead
By Terry O'Neil of the Otago Daily Times on Tuesday, 21 November 2017

Albion maintained its unbeaten run in Borton Cup cricket making it four in a row, beating Valley at Weston Park by 124 runs.

Albion started badly losing its first two wickets in the first two overs to be two for three, conceding wickets to Reuben Simpson and Cameron Grubb.

Brady Kingan (50) and Peter Cartwright (26) pulled the side around with a third wicket stand of 69 and the innings solidified when Ricky Whyte (41) and Brad Kernahan (67) added 88 runs for the seventh wicket. Kernahan was dismissed three runs short of bringing up his 4000 runs for Albion.

The last wicket of Albion fell at 269 with Geoff Mavor taking three for 56 and Simpson and Andrew Fisher two each.

Valley never really threatened the Albion attack with the final wicket falling at 145 with Cameron Grubb (47) and Simpson (40) the pick of the batsmen while Ricky Whyte took four for 34 off 6.3 overs.

At Whitestone Contracting Stadium, Oamaru/St Kevin's batting first against Waitaki Boys' High School first XI was dimissed for 93 in just 29 overs. Only Ash Abraham (42) and Lachlan Brooks (21) showed any stickability with Waitaki Boys' player/coach Francois Mostert taking seven for five of six overs. Scott Kitto took two for severn.

Waitaki Boys' made hard work of the chase losing five wickets for only 53 runs before it passed the opposition total with three wickets in hand in the 28th over. Mostert was unbeaten on 32 and Hayden Creedy adding 20. Bowling for Oamaru/St Kevin's James Ferris took six for 21 off his 21 overs.


     Follow us on Facebook

Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraOamaru Sports & OutdoorsBrydone HotelCameron Walker And AssociatesPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron