Outright Victory to North Otago
By Terry O'Neil on Monday, 04 December 2017

North Otago 97 ( N.G. Smith 33, F. Mostert 32no, B.J. Andrews-Kennedy 6-14, T.C. Myles 2-35 ) & 267-9 Declared ( N.G. Smith 133, J.B. Smith 47, J.G. Ferris 22no, L.C. Kingan 22, B.J. Andrews-Kennedy 3-63, S.S. Sandhu 2-20, T.C. Myles 2-58, S. Blakely 2-68 )
Otago Country 92 ( T.J. McCormick 27, B.J. White 25, F. Mostert 7-28, C.M. Smith 2-28 ) & 73 ( S.S. Sandhu 15, B.J. White 14, C.M. Smith 5-25, J.B. Smith 2-5, F. Mostert 2-25 )
North Otago by 199 runs
Scorecard for the match

North Otago gained an outright win over Otago Country yesterday afternoon.

It set the home side the task of scoring 273 runs to win but the North Otago bowling attack, led by Craig Smith who took six for 25, dismissed Otago Country in its second innings for 73 runs.

North Otago won the toss against Otago Country at Molyneux Park on Saturday and made a shaky, start losing its first four wickets for just 27 runs. Three batsmen failed to score. Nathan Smith (33) and Francois Mostert (32) then guided North Otago through to 64 before the bottom order disintegrated, adding a mere 16 runs as North Otago’s innings closed at 97.

Outstanding bowling for the home side came from Bailey Andrews-Kennedy who took six for 14 off 12 overs.

The batting plague that North Otago had brought with it through the Pigroot soon affected the Otago Country batting performance as it stumbled through to 92 before the final wicket fell. Only Tim McCormick (27) and Barry White (25) showed any defiance.

Mostert was superb, taking seven for 28 off 17 overs, and Craig Smith took two for 28.

North Otago at stumps on the first day was 76 for three, an overall lead of 81 runs with the Smith brothers Jeremy(15) and Nathan (42) together in an unbeaten fourth-wicket stand of 58.

The Smiths dominated the first session of the second day and from 76 for three overnight North Otago declared shortly after lunch at 267 for nine, with Jeremy Smith dismissed for 47. Nathan batted on to 133 before he was dismissed with the total at 245 and the declaration came soon after giving Otago Country the task of scoring 274 runs to win.

Bailey Andrews-Kennedy was the most successful Country bowler, taking three for 63.

Otago Country was dismissed for a meagre 73 runs chasing 273 to win as Craig Smith sliced through the Otago Country batting line-up, taking six for 25.

In Timaru, South Canterbury also scored an outright win over Mid Canterbury, set the task in its second innings of scoring nine runs.


     Follow us on Facebook

Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraOamaru Sports & OutdoorsBrydone HotelCameron Walker And AssociatesPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron