Valley and Union to clash in Dick Hunt Final
By Terry O'Neil on Tuesday, 23 January 2018

Union and Valley will meet in the Dick Hunt Trophy final next Saturday after Union beat Valley in the final qualifying round on Saturday by 48 runs. Batting first, Union made 229 before it lost its final wicket in the 49th over with Duncan Drew (67 not out) and Glynn Cameron (41) the major contributors. Neil McLaughlin took three for 36 and Francois Mostert two for 26 for Valley. After twenty three overs Valley was 106 for four but only Lachie Kingan (30), Mostert(32) and McLaughlin(34 not out ) showed any grit before the final wicket fell in the 40th over at 181. For Union Blake James took four for 55, Sam Bastin three for 22 and Blake Martin three for 26.

There were runs aplenty on the all-weather pitch at Don Field as Oamaru beat Albion by 100 runs. Batting first, Ash Abraham made hay on the all-weather strip to make 129 with Jordan Bartlett(20) and Matt Brien(21) carrying Oamaru’s total to 285 for nine. Albion’s Ricky Whyte took three for 27.

Despite a Steve Halliwell half century, 48 from Dylan Winter and 30 from Brady Kingan, Albion’s middle and lower order failed to fire and the final wicket fell at 185. For Oamaru, Craig Smith snared four for nine and Abraham claimed two for 28.


     Follow us on Facebook

Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraOamaru Sports & OutdoorsBrydone HotelCameron Walker And AssociatesPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron