North Otago defeat Mid Canterbury inside 1 day
By Terry O'Neil on Monday, 12 February 2018

Mid Canterbury 55 ( N.B. Gilbert 37, F. Mostert 5-24, C.M. Smith 2-7, N.G. Smith 2-23 ) & 48 ( D. Kruger 16, N.B. Gilbert 14, F. Mostert 8-31 )
North Otago 175 ( L.C. Johnson 37, B.C. Cant 35, F. Mostert 29, N.G. Smith 21, J.B. Smith 19, R.N. Cockburn 5-43, A.W. Hooper 2-15 )
North Otago by an innings and 72 runs
Scorecard for the match

North Otago made history  in its Hawke Cup elimination against Mid Canterbury when   it beat the home side by an innings and seventy two runs to give its final round against Southland next week in Oamaru added importance.The lowest  Mid Canterbury innings that North Otago had produced in the past was in 1958, according to Mid Canterbury historian, Bob Bruhns,when Mid Canterbury was dismissed for sixty four runs on the back field at Waitaki Boys High School.

This weekend a switched on North Otago side broke that record twice at the Ashburton Domain.North Otago won the toss on a greenish, dusty pitch and put the home side in to bat.Accurate bowling and slick fielding saw  Mid Canterbury dismissed for fifty five ,the innings lasting only twenty three overs and one ball with opener Nick Gilbert(37) the only batsman to show any resistance.Francois Mostert took five for twenty four of nine overs and one ball while Nathan Smith bowled ten overs to claim and keeping in the Smith clan, Craig Smith claimed two for seven off four overs.

North Otago had  difficulty with the pitch and the opposition bowling attack but aided  by solid innings from Ben Cant(35), Lewie Johnson(37), Francois Mostert(29) and Nathan Smith(21) North Otago made 175 in forty five overs.Ryan Cockburn was the pick of the Mid Canterbury bowlers taking five for forty three

Forced to follow on Mid Canterbury lasted only nineteen overs to be dismissed for forty eight with Gilbert(14) and Des Kruger(16) the only batsmen to reach double figures and give North Otago a win by an innings and seventy two runs inside the first day. 

Co leaders in the zone four Hawke Cup elimination round Southland and South Canterbury met at Queens Park in Invercargill and at the conclusion of the first day the honours lay certainly with the home side.

Batting first Southland dominated the South Canterbury bowling attack and  late in the first day  declared its first innings closed at 367 for eight with  Harsh Visavadiya batting at four falling one run short of a double century.With Venkat Kotte(48) Visavadiya featured in a 130 run third wicket stand when joined by Shaun Fitzgibbon the pair added 148 for the fourth wicket before the innings was closed at 367. Stan Mair took four for103 and Dinesh de Silva claimed four for 92.

At stumps on the first day South Canterbury was eighteen for two with Jason Osborne taking both wickets for seven runs off six overs as South Canterbury went into survival mode. On the second morning South Canterbury added a further forty five runs losing the wicket of Glen Drake(23) before heavy rain an hour before lunch on the second day halted play with South Canterbury 304 runs in arrears and with seven wickets in hand. Lunch was taken early but rain interfered with the start of play during the lunch breakwith South Canterbury 265 runs behind with five wickets in hand.

Rain again halted play  in the second session with South Canterbury 102 for five but still 265 runs behind Southland's first innings total.The umpires inspected the ground at 4.45pm after rain and it was decided that play be under way at 5.10p.m.


Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraBrydone HotelPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron