South Canterbury Pile On The Runs
By Terry O'Neil on Tuesday, 04 December 2018

South Canterbury 400 ( P.P. Lill 75, M.K. Brown 66, J.S.T. Smallridge 62, L.J. Beck 61, W.T. Sharp 59no, J.L. Naylor 24, S.G. Mair 15, J.B. Smith 3-133, F. Mostert 2-69, S.C. Kitto 2-82 )
North Otago 278 ( L.C. Johnson 88, J.B. Smith 53, F. Mostert 36, J. H. Shields 21, C.R. Hassett 20, M.I. James 19, B.J. Kingan 14, S.G. Mair 5-42, P.P. Lill 3-43, M.J. Otley 2-79 ) & 67-3 ( L.C. Kingan 25no, C.R. Hassett 22 )
First innings win to South Canterbury
Scorecard for the match

South Canterbury earned first innings points against North Otago when the two associations met in a zone four Hawke Cup elimination round over the weekend in Timaru.

Bad weather forced a change of venue from Aorangi Park to the Pleasant Point domain.

South Canterbury won the toss, and its batting line-up feasted on a mediocre North Otago attack.

The side declared late on the first day with 400 runs on the board, and as an added bonus took the wicket of opener Lachie Kingan, with North Otago 367 runs in arrears at stumps on the first day.

The South Canterbury innings was built around partnerships. The second-wicket stand between Matt Brown (66) and Jacob Naylor (24) put on 63 runs before the middle order fired, with the fourth wicket adding 84 runs dominated by Liam Beck (61) and No. 4 Josh Smallridge also made 62 before being the sixth wicket to fall, with the total at 268.

But there was more to come from the South Canterbury batsmen, with Phil Lill (75) and William Sharp (59) guiding the side through to 400 before the the declaration came. Resuming at 33 for one on day two, North Otago lost the wickets of Jeremy Shields (21) and Cormack Hassett (20) to Stan Mair in the first session of the second day and went to lunch three down for 108.

After the lunch break, Lewie Johnson and Jeremy Smith added a further 47 runs before rain forced a break in play. Johnson was on 66 at that point, having brought up his half century off 66 balls in 98 minutes, hitting six fours and a six.

When the rain stopped shortly after 2.30pm, Johnson made his intention obvious, racing through to 88 before he was caught by Mark Brown off Lill’s bowling, ending a fourth wicket stand of 131 runs with Smith. Smith lost his wicket at 53, but Francois Mostert added 36 before the lower order crumpled, adding just 48 runs, and the innings closed at 278, forcing North Otago to follow on 122 behind going into the final session.

When play was abandoned for the weekend, North Otago was 87 for three in its second innings, and South Canterbury took first innings points.


Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraBrydone HotelPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron