Oamaru stop Valley 5 peat
By Terry O'Neil on Tuesday, 29 January 2019

Players: Francois Mostert | Cameron Grubb | Stephan Grobler | Craig A Smith | Nick Johnston |

Oamaru halted Valley’s surge towards a fifth successive Dick Hunt trophy title when it defeated Valley by 14 runs in the final at Whitestone Contracting Stadium on Saturday.

Rain in the morning delayed the start, and the match was reduced from 50 overs to 35 overs each.

Oamaru won the toss, and captain Robbie Breen decided to bat.

Experience in the form of Stephan Grobler (44) and Craig Smith (94 not out) provided a solid base for Oamaru, the pair featuring in a 74-run third-wicket partnership.

Jordan Bartlett went early for seven, but all-rounder Nick Johnston (24) got together with Smith and the pair pushed through to 175 for three in a 63-run partnership.

Will Sunderland and Smith saw the total through to 203 for the loss of five wickets, with Sunderland dismissed on the final ball of the innings.

Valley started the chase confidently, and openers Lachie Kingan (55) and Rhys Petrie (42) guided it through to 98 for one.

Valley then lost Francois Mostert and Cameron Grubb cheaply, and had to battle through to 161 for seven.

Hamish McKenzie was given support from a youthful trio in Ben and Liam Mavor and Ben Kay, who did not give up their wickets cheaply. But in the end Valley was dismissed for 189.

Bowling for Oamaru, Grobler took three for 38 and Nick Johnston one for 27.


Community Trust of OtagoNew Zealand Community TrustWaitaki District CouncilThe Lion FoundationOasthouse LiquorlandOamaru Licencing TrustKookaburraBrydone HotelPlacemakers OamaruBreen Construction

The North Otago Cricket Association regulates cricket in the North Otago area and is affiliated to the Otago Cricket Association (New Zealand).
To contract us please use the contact us form or alternately we may be contacted at:
North Otago Cricket Assocation, P.O. Box 235, Oamaru, New Zealand.
© North Otago Cricket 2011. All rights reserved
Design by Scott Cameron