Valley Cricket Club
Llew Johnson and Ben Donkers perpare to go bat.

Founded: 1991

Home Ground: Weston Park

President:- Geoff Mavor
Secretary :-Hamish McKenzie
Contact :-Hamish McKenzie (027 4248454)

The Valley Cricket Club origins reach back into the early 1900’s with the Waitaki Sub Association based in the Waitaki Valley.

The Waitaki Valley region saw a population boom during the major dams projects when the Waitaki, Aviemore and Benmore dams were created and the region once rivalled Oamaru in total population. Clubs such as Kurow and Hydro (based in Otematata) took part in a competitive and strong competition with the Kurow club taking part very briefly in the Borton Cup competition during the 1930ties. The Waitaki Sub Association also took part in a ‘country week’ where teams representing the sub-association as ‘Country’ took on ‘Town’ representative teams from Oamaru along with teams from the Waihemo Sub-Association based in East Otago. Such was the strength of the Waitaki competition, at one stage the North Otago Hawke Cup team saw more than half of its members from the Sub Association.

As the dams projects started winding down the cricket clubs started to struggle to find numbers to put out teams. With only three teams left (Kurow, Otematata and a team based at Duntroon) the competition had become effectively defunct. These three teams decided to combine and form a new club to take part in the Oamaru based competition. This team was called the Upper Waitaki Cricket Club and was based at Duntroon. In the final game played between ‘Town’ and ‘Country’, which was played at Otematata, the Country team managed to pull off one last victory over their Town rivals.

During the early 1970ties, the Upper Waitaki Cricket Club changed its name to Country and up to the mid 1980ties managed to win the Borton Cup five times. In 1991 it combined with the Weston Cricket Club and moved to Weston becoming part of the Valley Sports Organisation which puts out amongst other sports, Rugby and Netball teams.


Senior Competition Champions ( Borton Cup ) - 5
1994-1995, 1997-1998, 2003-2004, 2004-2005, 2006-2007

Senior Minor Premiership Champions ( D G Sewell Shield ) - 1

Senior Holiday Competition/Challenge Champions ( Dick Hunt Memorial ) - 9
1995-1996, 2002-2003, 2006-2007, 2010-2011, 2011-2012, 2015-2016, 2016-2017, 2017-2018, 2019-2020

Senior Challenge Champions ( Payne Tempero Cup ) - 1

Senior Twenty/20 Competition Champions ( ) - 1

Senior Reserve Competition Champions ( North Otago Cricket Association Cup ) - 4
2010-2011, 2011-2012, 2012-2013, 2013-2014, 2019-2020, 2021-2022, 2021-2022

Senior Reserve Holiday Competition Champions ( NOCA Cup ) - 4
2011-2012, 2012-2013, 2013-2014, 2014-2015

Second Grade Competition Champions ( J P Dell Cup ) - 17
1991-1992, 1992-1993, 1995-1996, 1996-1997, 1998-1999, 1999-2000, 2007-2008, 2008-2009, 2010-2011, 2011-2012, 2012-2013, 2013-2014, 2014-2015, 2015-2016, 2016-2017, 2017-2018, 2018-2019

Second Grade Holiday Competition Champions ( North Otago Association Cup ) - 8
2007-2008, 2008-2009, 2010-2011, 2012-2013, 2013-2014, 2015-2016, 2016-2017, 2017-2018